How do I grant someone access to my calendar in Outlook

There are two different ways to grant someone access to your calendar in Outlook 2013. The first method allows you to grant one of the three predefined levels of access and send e-mail notification to this person at the same time. Method number two, provides you with greater control and granularity over the access level for each person. We recommend that you use method number one to grant access initially, then method number two to further refine access level and other related settings.

NOTE: If you are trying to give someone access to manage your mail and calendar (example: creating email messages or responding to meeting requests on your behalf), then please see this KB article: Ho do I allow someone else to manage my mail and calendar in Outlook?

 METHOD 1

1.  Switch to your calendar.

2.  Click on the "Share Calendar" icon in the ribbon.

 

 

3. Specify e-mail address of the person that you want to delegate your calendar access to. The best way to do this is to typ this person's UWIn ID or full name then click "Check Names" button on the ribbon. You can also click the "To..." button and pick the name from the Global Address List. Optionally, chck the box next to "Request permission to view recipient's calendar" if you wish the person at the other end to reciprocate.

 

 
 

4. Select one of the two: "Limited Details" or "Full Details". Please note that default entry in this field is "Availability only". You should not select this option because by default everyone already have access to view your calendar's availability.

 

"Limited details" includes the availability and subjects of calendar items only.

"Full details" includes the availability and full details of calendar items.

You will be able to refine the access level for this person further later on using method two, as outlined below.

5. Click "Send" button to send your notification e-mail to the person that you picked.

 

 

 

 

When this person receives your e-mail notification, they will be able to click on "Open this Calendar" to open your calendar and add it to their list of "Other Calendars."

 

 
 

METHOD 2

1.  Switch to your calendar.

2.  Click on the "Calendar Permissions" icon in the ribbon.

 

 
 

3.  Cick the "Add" button, switch to the Global Address Book, and find the person to whom you want to delegate access.

 

 

4.  Choose the permission level from the drop down box.  Your options are: (most common highlighted in bold)

 

Reviewer: The person can view events on your calendar only. They cannot make changes to your calendar. This is the permission level to select if you don't want to grant any write or change permissions to the other person.

Contributor: The person can ONLY add events to your calendar, but they cannot view, modify, or delete any events on your calendar.

Nonediting Author: The person can create events on your calendar and view your calendar, but they can't modify any events once they have been have placed on your calendar, and they can't delete any of your events.

Author: The person can create events on your calendar and view your calendar but cannot modify or delete any events that you have placed on your calendar. This person can modify or delete only the events they created on your calendar.

Publishing Author: This level of access provides the same permissions as Author but also allows the person to create subfolders.

Editor: The person can create, view, modify, and delete events on your calendar. This level of access effectively gives the person full read and write access to your calendar.

Publishing Editor: This level of access provides the same permissions as Editor but also allows the person to create subfolders.

Owner: The person can create, view, modify, and delete events on your calendar. As the folder owner this person will also have the ability to grant or change permissions for other people to this calendar.

Free/Busy time: This setting is typically set to the Default user and restricts other users not given permissions to view your calendar except when being scheduled. At that time the only thing people can see is a blue block (busy time) or white (free time).

Free/Busy time, subject, location: This setting is one step up from the default setting. This will allow other users the ability to see that you are busy, where you are, and the subject of the meeting.
All other information is blocked from them and if they double-click on a meeting will be told they do not have sufficient permissions to view the calendar.