How to reinitialize your Lotus Notes client (same user)?

In some situations, some issues with Lotus Notes can be fixed by re-running the initial setup. This is the same setup that had to be done right after Lotus Notes was installed.

These instructions should not be used to re-configure Lotus Notes when a computer with Lotus Notes installed for one user is being transferred to another user.

NOTE: This solution requires advanced knowledge and experience in troubleshooting of Lotus Notes, and should be performed by or under the supervision of the qualified IT staff only.

Follow these steps:

1. Shut down Lotus Notes.

2. Find notes.ini file and make a backup copy of it.

3. Edit notes.ini using Notepad and delete all contents of it except that first 6 lines. The last line should be an empty line (see red arrow in the capture below). Edited notes.ini should look like this:

 

Note that depending of the type and location of the installation, some parameters (ie. text after the "=" sign in each line) in your notes.ini my be different form these pictured above. However, in each case these same labels should appear at the beginning of each line: [Notes], KitType, Directory, InstallType, InstallMode, and NotesProgram.

4. Save your changes and close notes.ini

5. Restart Lotus Notes

You will be prompted to go though the initial setup.

0% helpful - 1 review